Cheetah 4.7 and 3dconnexion space navigator

Cheetah 4.7 and 3dconnexion space navigator

Hi everybody,

Just a quick question. Since there is a cheap PE version of 3DConnexion's Space Navigator I'm considering of buying one.

When I look at their supported products list I can see cheetah in there but the driver isn't 3DC certified. But when I look at this forum I see some people using it with older beta versions of cheetah.

So my question is, does the spacenavigator work on cheetah 4.7?
And would there be anyone out here actually using this combination, and if so, does it do the trick for you or are you more comfortable working with a mouse?

Thank you all in advance,

rgrds,
Miguel

I have been using the SpaceNavigator for 18 months in SketchUp, and it's really one od the greatest tools I ever bought for 3D. I know podperson doesn't like it at all... ;-) but personally I couldn't live without it. It's fast, accurate, and feels very natural - especially in "Camera mode".

The fact that it is not really well implemented in Cheetah (including in v5) is a big problem for me. Am I the only one on earth ?

Hate it too. My boss bought several for the modeling team, and they all ended up as paperweights. I found it offered me nothing at all, and slowed me down quite a bit.... Useless. I sent their support a few questions regarding how slow it was to load app-specific preferences and got no reply.... until one day 2 years later, long after I had chucked it.... no kidding... 2 years later they responded to inform me that it was normal behavior for the device to take up to 10 seconds to load configurations when multi-tasking. Ridiculous.

Sorry, but again I totally disagree. When it is well implemented - which is the case in Google Earth and Google SketchUp in "camera mode" - the SpaceNavigator is an extremely efficient tool.

I'm with Yann