How to make a simple building

How to make a simple building

Is there a tutorial anywhere that shows how to make a building. With a few windows and doors. Or even a simple way to make a skyscraper?

dan

There should be several general tutorials on modelling buildings out there on the net. There should be no need for a C3D-specific one.;)

I'm new to this 3D stuff. I do mostly video production... but wanted to dabble in 3D and maybe use some of this stuff in my videos, if I can make something cool, that is.
So what is the deal, I can look at a tutorial of any 3D program and basically use it in Cheetah??

I would say that UV mapping a cube is a good start. modelling is half of it, but getting the textures on and how you want them takes a bit of learning too.

To do your building, play with the extrude and inner extrude functions, you select the tool then click to perform the function. Then make sure you pull the faces along only one axis to keep it square.
HTH
AC

So what is the deal, I can look at a tutorial of any 3D program and basically use it in Cheetah??

Kind of.

C3D's UI is pretty easy to learn ... once you've figured it out, any 3d tutorial that focuses more on the modeling than the UI will work in C3D. (Often, all you need to do is look at the pictures...)

The fundamental skills in C3D are polygon modeling (learning how to extrude/cover faces, cut up faces, etc.) and then understanding how to use the different creator/modifier widgets (e.g. symmetry, subdivision, lathe, etc.)

If you're new to 3d there's also a lot of new concepts to understand (consider how long it took you to come to grips with bezier curves or Photoshop's color tools ... if you have).