newer than than newbie?

newer than than newbie?

well so far ive tried the hello world tutorial and cant add any material to the ball. I dont know where they get that map image from either so i just tried adding some other .jpg image. Anyway ive given up on that project 2 or 3 times now and same thing for the axe tutorial. I cant manage to manipulate the box into anything remotely similar to an axehead even after trying for over an hour. It seems as though there are necessary directions which have been left out of the tutorials. My eventual goal is to be able to create architectural structures with this [buildings, bridges] but so far seems hopeless. So far ive tried this demo and the form-Z demo, neither with much success. I havent used any time on the 8 hour sketchup demo yet mainly due to the high cost of the full version but from looking at the tutorials that looks like it may be the easiest to grasp... i dunno, im a newbie :|

thanks for the offer of help Frank. As i said with the hello world tutorial I cant add any material to the ball. I dont know where they get that map image from either so i just tried adding some other .jpg image. none work. As for the axe the screen cap shows one of my futile attempts at making an axehead

Attachments

• Picture 2.jpg
    Picture 2.jpg
    162.5 KB · Views: 740
Last edited:
2. Give the axe the basic shape... ummm ok?

in the pictures on the tutorial they just gloss over that like its simple.... actually its impossible for someone with my cheetah skill level

Attachments

• Picture 3.jpg
    Picture 3.jpg
    129.3 KB · Views: 747
Mayday-> You have to add the jpg to the color channel and not the transparency channel.

Regards,

Peter

thanks Peter

But i looked all over and found no sign of either the color or transparency channels and the tutorial makes no mention of either. Anyway i tried to add material again and this [6th] time it worked. I have no idea why. I didnt do anything different than all the other times