beginner help: wrapping a label around a pen

beginner help: wrapping a label around a pen

total klutzy beginner here.
Trying to make models of marking pens and wrap different labels around them.
It's important that I don't distort the label artwork. I managed to make one work very well, when it was on a white plastic pen with a chrome looking tip part.
But now, I am having trouble putting a "paper" label on a shiny chrome pen.
Any kind-hearted Cheetah master willing to give me some help?
This particular pen has a white plastic part in the front, and a shiny metal barrel, and the label only covers a portion of the shiny barrel, and the barrel has a unique shape at the back end... so i needed to make it by lathing a spline. Also, I made the white plastic part by lathing a spline.

Hi jb. ;)
Make your spline/lathe object editable - generate some material and add the label image (which has some decent aspect ratio) to the diffuse channel. Select the polygons where the labe should appear and drag it to it.
Adjust the amount of reflection at the material properties which is "zero=black" by default.

Cheers
Frank

Attachments

• Labeling.jpeg
    Labeling.jpeg
    42.8 KB · Views: 1,108
Hi jb. ;)
Select the polygons where the labe should appear and drag it to it.

Thank you so much for taking the time to help me!
You make it sound very simple.
I run into trouble when trying to select the polygons on which the label must appear. And when I have succeeded in selecting the polygons, the material doesn't cooperate. I'll try to attach some samples.
First, I'll show you my successful attempt at making a pen.
I had all kinds of trouble making it look right until I added a strip of white on the top and bottom of the label material and then applied it to the whole portion of the pen -- which in reality is white.