Attempt at Modelling a Fishing Boat

Hi

This is my first attempt at modelling a fishing boat.
It's better than I was expecting for my first attempt, but not what I was hoping for.

I'm not after a super detailed model; just a simple looking boat with the hull, deck and wheelhouse; nothing cartoony looking. Does anyone have any tips on the best way of modelling this? Various renders, mostly from the rear will be used to explain boat stability, changes in centres of gravity, etc.

I have spent around three hours so far, so I know my approach is not the best, and my hull is a bit lumpy. Any clues as to the easiest way to model this will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Chris

P.S. I tried uploading one zip file with all the blueprints and it was too large, so I have split the zip file in two.
Screenshot 2023-08-22 at 4.34.47 PM.jpg
boat.jpg

Attachments

• Boat and some blueprints.zip
    467.5 KB · Views: 93
  • Other blueprints.zip
    206.9 KB · Views: 87
You did a great job whatever method you used.

You had one n-gon that I turned into a triangle, and I added
Subdivision and Shell Modifiers plus adding some Ring Cuts.
I also used Point Slide as well as Normal Move on some Edges,
Points and polygons to smooth any lumpiness.

Nice start, should come out looking good.

Fishing Boat zhd.jpg

Attachments

• Fishing Boat zhd jas.zip
    37.7 KB · Views: 88
Last edited:
Another tip: Always check your scale with a Parametric Object.
If the model fits inside then it may be too small. Scale it up!

Scale it Up.jpg

You did a great job whatever method you used.

You had one n-gon that I turned into a triangle, and I added
Subdivision and Shell Modifiers plus adding some Ring Cuts.
I also used Point Slide as well as Normal Move on some Edges,
Points and polygons to smooth any lumpiness.

Nice start, should come out looking good.