Any way to move an entire keyframe at once?

I'm just learning to do keyframe animation on a rigged character, by posing the bones. Here's what I've learned so far:
  • Turn on the "key whole hierarchy" mode button below the timeline.
  • Every time you want to record a key, select the skeleton root before clicking the Record button.
  • For my purposes, at least, I want to turn off keying Position and Scale while in this mode. If I want to animate the root position, then for any key that moves the root, I need to turn off the "key whole hierarchy" mode, turn on Position, click Record, and then toggle those two modes to get back to normal.
So far so good (if annoyingly fiddly). But one thing I can't figure out:

Suppose I decide I need to stretch out one part of the animation a little bit — say, move one pose over a few frames. My experimentation seems to indicate that to do this I have to manually select each and every bone in the hierarchy (there are about 50 of these), and drag each one over. Even if I have the "key whole hierarchy" mode button on.

Is this really true, even in Cheetah3D 7? No way to move the key frame with all keyed data at once?

For animating I would add IK (inverse kinematics) to the wrists and ankles and the use of IK targets.

That way you only key one or a few joints at most.

This "Flatman" was animated by keying only the hips for the up and down motion
(3 keyframes) and the left hand target for the wave action (5 keyframes).

flatman.gif

Last edited:
* There exists a Java script (a tool script, it may be called "Scale Take") which allows you to expand a take by a specified factor. If you need to stretch or compress just a part of a take it should be possible to split the take into three parts, and apply the script to just the relevant module of the take.
* I have never tried that, so you need to experiment, clearly with a copy of your .jas model.