UV Map part to Multiple Objects

UV Map part to Multiple Objects

Hi all, I'm a total noob so bare with me if my lingo is incorrect.

Essentially I'm making good progress via the docs but have really struggled with UV mapping complex models. To get a better idea of how to do it I went and purchased a collection of 7 Spaceship Models with UV maps and Textures. It really helped to see it well done.

What I noticed was that this UV Map that was loaded via a 3DS file had single pieces that were applying the Diffuse Image Texture to multiple places on the model. I used the UV Map to Select the correct edges to create the Seams but after adjusting the model and Selecting Unwrap UV the UV would then go ahead and create duplicates of what was previously a single piece. This then meant the UV map would not fit on the sheet?

Is there something special going on here? Something I can do assign the duplicates to a single piece in the UV?

It's all a bit confusing.

Thanks.

Hi and Welcome!
I think we´re accidentally in the script section of this forum. Nevermind. :p
I´m not sure if I catch you here; what is wrong with the UV map delivered with the purchased models? Any screenshots to share?

Cheers
Frank

Opps

Yes your right, sorry my bad.

Original UV Map with model.

ship_2_3DS_original.png

So this is the UV sheet after I traced the Seams via the UV Map. Many of the pieces are used multiple times when the texture is applied to the material that comes with the model. Essentially UV is half of the Model applied symmetrically.

ship_2_3DS.png

I wanted to be able to tweak the model just a little and get the updates displaying in the UV Map so I can redo the texture in Photoshop.

I assumed that once I tweak the model and I use Unwrap UV which uses the Seams I traced the UV would keep track of the symmetry but the parts that get used in multiple places get duplicated like so:

ship_2_3DS_2.png