Cheetah3D User Forum  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
Daemoc (Offline)
Benutzer
 
Posts: 34
Join Date: 15.04.2018
Default Character Rigging Question (Pose) - 21.06.2018, 00:49

A quick stupid pose question...


So I have a model that I have rigged, weighted and posed.


I made a new character mesh and I have copied the skeleton from the base model to a new model and weighted it.


Now I can not for the life of me get the pose function to work.


Does the pose tag need to be attached to the root Bone, the entire figure, all joints?


Can the pose function work between multiple figures? Whats the best way to copy poses from one figure to the next if they share the same rig?


Thanks in advance.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
frank beckmann (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
frank beckmann's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,644
Join Date: 12.07.2005
Default 21.06.2018, 10:59

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemoc View Post
Does the pose tag need to be attached to the root Bone, the entire figure, all joints?
Please have a look into Help->Cheetah3d samples->Animation->Alien walk.jas
To record a pose hold shift key down and click the root joint (first joint in hierarchy) then go to Pose tag and hit New Pose. You donīt have to record the whole hierarchy when just one arm/leg/head are posed - just shift&click the root joint where arm/leg/etc begins.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemoc View Post
Can the pose function work between multiple figures? Whats the best way to copy poses from one figure to the next if they share the same rig?
Not possible as far as I know - maybe itīs scriptable - canīt tell. (Morph tags can be transferred between objects when same polycount+topology is given. BTW)

Cheers
Frank


Life is short. Eat dessert first.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Daemoc (Offline)
Benutzer
 
Posts: 34
Join Date: 15.04.2018
Default 21.06.2018, 13:14

I did get this to work after a cooler head this morning.


It's a pain, but I had to start with the base file. I pasted the new figure mesh into the base file and pulled the skeleton from the base to the new along with the pose tag.


Once I re-weighted using the base skeleton the poses worked on the new mesh.


I wish there was a better way, but this will work for now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
frank beckmann (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
frank beckmann's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,644
Join Date: 12.07.2005
Default 21.06.2018, 13:21

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemoc View Post
It's a pain, but I had to start with the base file. I pasted the new figure mesh into the base file and pulled the skeleton from the base to the new along with the pose tag.
Once I re-weighted using the base skeleton the poses worked on the new mesh.
Okay - you didnīt say you take the joints with the pose tag.
I hardly ever need to use the vertex weighting after "heat-binding" was implemented; just make sure your joints are inside the mesh.

Cheers
Frank


Life is short. Eat dessert first.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.6.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com