Cheetah3D User Forum  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old
  (#21)
Martin (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
Site Admin
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,153
Join Date: 13.03.2005
Default 02.05.2016, 09:57

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gavin View Post
Are there any features or file format changes that prevents a model written by the beta to open in the release version (apart from bugs obviously)?

Mainly the new render settings. The old camera tags are converted to the new render settings. Also some parameters here and there changed slightly.

In general v6 doesn't know anything about the new features in v7. Therefore it can't import these things.

Bye
Martin
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Martin (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
Site Admin
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,153
Join Date: 13.03.2005
Default 02.05.2016, 09:58

Quote:
Originally Posted by tg_jp View Post
Can we upload any screen shot or rendering images on our own twitter or web site?

Of course. Please feel free to post/upload anything you want.

Bye
Martin
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Helmut (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
Helmut's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,328
Join Date: 18.01.2010
Location: Vienna
Default 02.05.2016, 11:15

Thank you, Martin
Attached Images
 
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Charless (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
Posts: 157
Join Date: 08.04.2012
Default 02.05.2016, 16:31

Hi Martin
Flat design for the UI? Flat design was a trend, not anymore. Why use flat design in a 3D programme? Isnt that contradictio? If you stick to the flat, please cranck up the color contrast of the icons. My 50cts
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
uncle808us (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
uncle808us's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,127
Join Date: 25.12.2005
Default Stop turn off render finished notification?? - 02.05.2016, 16:43

In Lights what is: MIS?

Likes :
Visible buttons
Mind blowing Booleans!!!


MacBook Pro Retina, Mid 2012 15 in. OS X 10.11.6

Last edited by uncle808us : 02.05.2016 at 16:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#26)
Martin (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
Site Admin
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,153
Join Date: 13.03.2005
Default 02.05.2016, 17:07

Quote:
Originally Posted by uncle808us View Post
In Lights what is: MIS?

"Multiple Importance Sampling"is a method to improve the convergence speed in Falcon. It's best to keep it ON. I will explain that in the documentation. In the meanwhile google has quite some information about Multiple Importance Sampling.

You can turn off the Cheetah3D notifications in the OS X System preferences. There you can turn off the notifications of all applications individually.

Bye
Martin
Attached Images
 

Last edited by Martin : 02.05.2016 at 19:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#27)
Martin (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
Site Admin
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,153
Join Date: 13.03.2005
Default 02.05.2016, 17:14

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charless View Post
Hi Martin
Flat design for the UI? Flat design was a trend, not anymore. Why use flat design in a 3D programme? Isnt that contradictio? If you stick to the flat, please cranck up the color contrast of the icons. My 50cts

Aqua which heavily used 3D, glossy reflections and drop shadows was actually the trend. Apple ended it with OS X 10.10 (Yosemite) and returned to a flatter UI like they originally had it. I think v7 fits pretty well in that current trend.

Bye
Martin
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
Albert (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
Albert's Avatar
 
Posts: 342
Join Date: 12.12.2013
Default 02.05.2016, 17:41

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin View Post
Hi,
first of all I'm really sorry for that pretty extreme delay of Cheetah3D 7.0. Since Cheetah3D is already a 15 years old project a big cleanup of the underlying architecture and a refresh of the UI was more than overdue. Thanks to that modernization work Cheetah3D 7 lost quite some weight (MBytes) while gaining lots of new features.

Since many users asked me to get access to the beta builds I'm happy to finally make the next step and start the Cheetah3D 7.0 Early Adopters Beta Test. I've picked that special form of public beta test since I want to increase the number of beta testers slowly. So a completely open beta test was no real option for me.

Although many features are already very mature there are still some open problems on which I have to work. So please don't forget that it's still beta software. But I'm optimistic that Cheetah3D 7.0 is now ready for a wider audience.

Since the documentation hasn't been updated yet the early adopter betas are mainly for adventurous Cheetah3D users who can't await to get their fingers on the new v7 features. I will update the documentation and sample files once I've finalized the UI.

New Features:
  • New renderer
  • NGon booleans
  • Movie textures
  • Soft selections
  • Collada import
  • Layers
  • Full OpenEXR 2 workflow
  • Big UI update
  • and much much more
The full Cheetah3D 7 feature list is way too long for this posting so I've added it to the .DMG file of the Beta version. Since the feature set hasn't been nailed down yet please be aware that things might still change.

License:
The Early Adopter Beta version already requires a Cheetah3D 7.x compatible registration number if you want to save your work. If you bought Cheetah3D 6.x after April 1st 2015 you have nothing to do since you already received a Cheetah3D 7.x compatible registration number (due to the Free Cheetah3D 7.0 Upgrade program).
If you purchased Cheetah3D before April 1st 2015 you can already Upgrade to Cheetah3D 7 by purchasing a Cheetah3D 6.x Upgrade which comes with a free Upgrade to Cheetah3D 7.x. That will also give you access to a Cheetah3D 7.x compatible registration number.

System requirements:
-64Bit Intel CPU
-OS X 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard) or newer

Attention:
THIS IS BETA SOFTWARE SO DON'T USE IT ON IMPORTANT DATA. CHEETAH3D 7 WILL CONVERT THE RENDER TAGS TO THE V7 RENDER PREFERENCES DURING IMPORT SO THE V7 GENERATED .JAS FILES ARE NOT 100% BACKWARD COMPATIBLE. V6 CAN'T LOAD THE V7 RENDER SETTINGS!!! SO PLEASE BE CAREFUL THAT YOU DON'T ACCIDENTALLY SAVE A SCENE WITH V7 IF YOU STILL WANT TO OPEN IT WITH V6.

Download link of Cheetah3D 7.0 Beta 13:
http://www.cheetah3d.com/download/Be...ah3D7.0b13.dmg

I hope you enjoy Cheetah3D 7.

Kind regards
Martin

Hello Martin, and THANKS for a wonderful program!

I am wondering if I will need to do anything when v7 is available... (?)
I purchased v6.x on 8/25/2013, and am now running v6.3.2, so I may have
upgraded at some point, but I am not sure if/when I did.
Will I need to purchase an upgrade to v7 when it becomes available,
or just download the upgrade at that time?

Thank you for your time


Regards,

ALinCAL
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
Martin (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
Site Admin
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,153
Join Date: 13.03.2005
Default 02.05.2016, 18:47

Quote:
Originally Posted by Albert View Post
Hello Martin, and THANKS for a wonderful program!

I am wondering if I will need to do anything when v7 is available... (?)
I purchased v6.x on 8/25/2013, and am now running v6.3.2, so I may have
upgraded at some point, but I am not sure if/when I did.
Will I need to purchase an upgrade to v7 when it becomes available,
or just download the upgrade at that time?

Hi Albert,
I'm sorry but since 8/25/2013 is before April 1st 2015 you need to Upgrade to Cheetah3D 7. The free Upgrade is just for users who purchased after April 1st 2015.

You can test if your registration number is compatible with Cheetah3D 7. Just launch the Cheetah3D 7.0 Beta version. If it asks for a registration number you need the Upgrade. If it doesn't ask for the registration number you have nothing to do.

Bye
Martin
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#30)
Martin (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
Site Admin
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Posts: 9,153
Join Date: 13.03.2005
Default 02.05.2016, 18:50

Quote:
Originally Posted by icodealot View Post
Really looking forward to kicking the tires on this. If we find any issues to report do you want us to post them here or do something else?

Hi,
if you are sure that it's a bug the please send it to me via email.

But if you are not 100% if it's a bug or if just something works differently then it's better if you post the problem here in the forum first. Maybe someone already knows the solution to the problem.

Bye
Martin
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.6.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com