Cheetah3D User Forum  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old
  (#101)
CpH (Offline)
Benutzer
 
CpH's Avatar
 
Posts: 82
Join Date: 08.03.2008
Cool 13.05.2016, 07:49

Quote:
Originally Posted by uncle808us View Post
What is the use for this, is it for actual painting on a texture or for bone heating.

Hi, you can use the new Vertex Color Tag + Brush Tool to paint any color directly on any Editable Mesh.

Beware that it won't be automatically visible upon importing into other 3D apps or Game Engines unless they support it. For example: In Unity3D you'll need to build or assign a Vertex Shader to your model (such as its built-in "Particles/Alpha Blended" Shader) in order to reveal your C3D vertex shaded .jas or .fbx model rendered in real time. Houdini Indie/FX/Apprentice has native support upon importing Cheetah3D's Vertex Shader via .FBX for example.

It's an ancient technique but with ground breaking flexibility for prototypes, best consistent on screen color management, saves an enormous amount of time for simple mesh colorizations that show better depth when compared to just adding multiple material per mesh assignments that are limited, eliminates the need to constantly switch back & forth between various 2D texturing software packages, low CPU load + low GPU draw calls + fastest stable FPS for large scenes, and no need to manage or keep track of an entire bitmap texture library, just to name a few advantages, however its not a direct replacement for high resolution HD PBR 2D bitmap textures but still can complement those environments because it can be rendered at the same time.

I like to think of it as an awesome 3D Vector Art tool without the capability to import an .SVG as a colorized 2D mesh.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#102)
BillG (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
Posts: 279
Join Date: 20.03.2007
Default Renderer question, and a request - 13.05.2016, 12:09

Thanks, Martin, for all of the great work that you do!

Rendered in Falcon vs Cheetah, the falcon renders with default settings appear grainy. Is there a setting to let it grind a little further? The scene is HDRI lit, with an additional distant light and blurred reflections.

Also, as a request, is there a way that when switching renderers, the original resolution can be remembered instead of going to a default 640 x 480 in both?

Bill in MN
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#103)
frank beckmann (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
frank beckmann's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,648
Join Date: 12.07.2005
Default 13.05.2016, 12:17

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillG View Post
Thanks, Martin, for all of the great work that you do!

Rendered in Falcon vs Cheetah, the falcon renders with default settings appear grainy. Is there a setting to let it grind a little further? The scene is HDRI lit, with an additional distant light and blurred reflections.

Also, as a request, is there a way that when switching renderers, the original resolution can be remembered instead of going to a default 640 x 480 in both?
The default number of samples is set to "100" which you can increase it to your liking. If you want Falcon to render till you´re satisfied with the result you can set the number to "0" and hit the "STOP"-sign/button to finish the render then.
The resolution settings of both render engines are not synchronized right now. Can´t tell if there are any changes planned.

Cheers
Frank
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#104)
BillG (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
Posts: 279
Join Date: 20.03.2007
Default 13.05.2016, 16:08

Danke schön, Frank!
Bill
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#105)
uncle808us (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
uncle808us's Avatar
 
Posts: 3,218
Join Date: 25.12.2005
Default 13.05.2016, 17:03

Quote:
Originally Posted by CpH View Post
Hi, you can use the new Vertex Color Tag + Brush Tool to paint any color directly on any Editable Mesh.


It's an ancient technique but with ground breaking flexibility for prototypes, best consistent on screen color management, saves an enormous amount of time for simple mesh colorizations that show better depth when compared to just adding multiple material per mesh assignments that are limited, eliminates the need to constantly switch back & forth between various 2D texturing software packages, low CPU load + low GPU draw calls + fastest stable FPS for large scenes, and no need to manage or keep track of an entire bitmap texture library, just to name a few advantages, however its not a direct replacement for high resolution HD PBR 2D bitmap textures but still can complement those environments because it can be rendered at the same time.

I like to think of it as an awesome 3D Vector Art tool without the capability to import an .SVG as a colorized 2D mesh.

I can not see any vertex paint in the render?
Attached Images
 


MacBook Pro Retina, Mid 2012 15 in. OS X 10.11.6

Last edited by uncle808us : 13.05.2016 at 17:04. Reason: add image
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#106)
Swizl (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
Swizl's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,657
Join Date: 16.06.2011
Location: Atlanta, GA - USA
Default Possible v7 Bug? - 13.05.2016, 18:06

I changed the color of the Editor Separators in the preferences. After doing this, the color and copy on those separators is being clipped.

Possible bug?
Attached Images
 
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#107)
podperson (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
podperson's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,232
Join Date: 26.03.2007
Default 13.05.2016, 18:11

Quote:
Originally Posted by uncle808us View Post
I can not see any vertex paint in the render?

You need to use the color output of the state node (it took me a while to figure out — I started to write a bug report)

Counter-intuitively, once you apply the material to the painted object, it stops previewing correctly (sigh). And it doesn't show up properly in the node editor either.

This is a really annoying since you can't even stop a material from being previewed without simply turning it off.
Attached Images
 


Learn 3D with Cheetah 3D 6 | Master List of C3D Tutorials | Master List of Scripts (please post omissions to the threads) | Decorated Pig | Blog
MacBook Pro 2.8GHz (4 core) 16GB RAM | Mac Pro 3.2GHz (4 core) 24GB RAM nVidia 1070 | Cheetah 3d 7.x | OS X 10.12.x

Last edited by podperson : 13.05.2016 at 18:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#108)
frank beckmann (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
frank beckmann's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,648
Join Date: 12.07.2005
Default 13.05.2016, 18:15

Quote:
Originally Posted by podperson View Post
once you apply the material to the painted object, it stops previewing correctly (sigh). And it doesn't show up properly in the node editor either.
No? Have you selected the vertex-paint tag again?

Cheers
Frank
Attached Images
 
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#109)
podperson (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
podperson's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,232
Join Date: 26.03.2007
Default 13.05.2016, 18:19

Quote:
Originally Posted by frank beckmann View Post
No? Have you selected the vertex-paint tag again?

Good point. It's really a more general issue with not being able to see vertex colors _at all_ except when painting. I should be able to see the vertex colors when the object itself isn't selected (let alone in vertex paint mode). E.g. I might be vertex painting two different objects and want to refer to object A while painting object B.

(Incidentally, the forum doesn't seem to allow posting images via URL if the images are from some other forum post, so I had to download my own previously uploaded image to cross-post it.)


Learn 3D with Cheetah 3D 6 | Master List of C3D Tutorials | Master List of Scripts (please post omissions to the threads) | Decorated Pig | Blog
MacBook Pro 2.8GHz (4 core) 16GB RAM | Mac Pro 3.2GHz (4 core) 24GB RAM nVidia 1070 | Cheetah 3d 7.x | OS X 10.12.x
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#110)
frank beckmann (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
frank beckmann's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,648
Join Date: 12.07.2005
Default 13.05.2016, 18:26

Quote:
Originally Posted by podperson View Post
It's really a more general issue with not being able to see vertex colors _at all_ except when painting.
True. But I´m not sure if it´s a final implementation.

Cheers
Frank
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.6.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com