Cheetah3D User Forum  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old
  (#11)
Francois (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
Posts: 1,944
Join Date: 07.04.2005
Default 17.07.2011, 12:29

Quote:
Originally Posted by Destiny View Post
Hi, thank you so much for responding... I did some searching but couldn't find what I was looking for.. Well, what I am trying to do is find a program where I can import a model that has been laser scanned where a mtl texture has been create along with the high def 3D model... This will be used for showcasing artefacts and museum pieces ets... Its Ming told me that Cheetah might do this.. but he was not sure.. I did some searching but couldn't find what I wanted.. Its a bit like Rotate VR but I want to do this in swf or java so anyone can spin and rotate the object... emm.. I tried to export the mtl file but where do I do that... I need to make sure it does this... Yes I did a search thank you but since my needs are a bit out of the ordinary, there wasn't anything there.. Its Ming only suggested I try to see if your software will do what I want.. Its Ming only suggested I try to see if your software will do what I want.. Thank you for all your help anyway.. I will try to download the latest version again.. it keeps stopping for some reason..Some software does thing that it was never really designed to be used for.. I was hoping that Cheetah was one of them... Destiny

What is the program used for 3D scanning ? DavidLaserScan ? Do you have a cloud of points + texture or already polygons+texture (a .obj + a .mtl file ) ?

"...so anyone can spin and rotate the object ..."
With a web browser ? On a PC/Mac with a dedicated standalone application ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Destiny (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
Destiny's Avatar
 
Posts: 131
Join Date: 17.07.2011
Default 17.07.2011, 12:40

OH wow, thats want I am wanting... So now I am confused.. does this mean that Cheetah can export Collada´s dae file format.. I have never hear of it..

Very exciting!!!!

Destiny

Quote:
Originally Posted by frank beckmann View Post
As I mentioned in my first reply: Export to Collada´s dae file format and open with preview.app.
I attached an example from the example folde which can be downloaded from the Cheetah3d website:

Download, unzip and doubleclick to open with preview.app. You can now inspect the model from every angle, zoom/scroll.

Cheers
Frank
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Destiny (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
Destiny's Avatar
 
Posts: 131
Join Date: 17.07.2011
Default 17.07.2011, 12:48

no, not the DavidLaserScan... I do not think this is right for me...

I am thinking of buying the http://www.nextengine.com/

There are other scanner that sit on top of a SLR camera which takes the image and scans at the same time.... very exciting...

Destiny

Quote:
Originally Posted by Francois View Post
What is the program used for 3D scanning ? DavidLaserScan ? Do you have a cloud of points + texture or already polygons+texture (a .obj + a .mtl file ) ?

"...so anyone can spin and rotate the object ..."
With a web browser ? On a PC/Mac with a dedicated standalone application ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Destiny (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
Destiny's Avatar
 
Posts: 131
Join Date: 17.07.2011
Default 17.07.2011, 13:01

Well it opened and did what I wanted on my Mac but not the PC.. its just opened code.. so what did we do wrong.. does the PC need a player... ??

Destiny..

Quote:
Originally Posted by frank beckmann View Post
As I mentioned in my first reply: Export to Collada´s dae file format and open with preview.app.
I attached an example from the example folde which can be downloaded from the Cheetah3d website:

Download, unzip and doubleclick to open with preview.app. You can now inspect the model from every angle, zoom/scroll.

Cheers
Frank
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
frank beckmann (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
frank beckmann's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,107
Join Date: 12.07.2005
Default 17.07.2011, 13:08

Quote:
Originally Posted by Destiny View Post
Well it opened and did what I wanted on my Mac but not the PC.. its just opened code.. so what did we do wrong.. does the PC need a player... ??

Destiny..

Oh my dear - Preview.app is built into MacOSX - sorry I don´t know what´s up on the Window´s side.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Destiny (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
Destiny's Avatar
 
Posts: 131
Join Date: 17.07.2011
Default 17.07.2011, 13:16

will not work on Windows 7 either so is this a Mac player thing..... or does it work on both Mac and PC... Not sure how to put the player on my PC..... I did not even know it was on my Mac... good old Mac...

Just when I thought I was making progress....

Destiny...

Quote:
Originally Posted by frank beckmann View Post
As I mentioned in my first reply: Export to Collada´s dae file format and open with preview.app.
I attached an example from the example folde which can be downloaded from the Cheetah3d website:

Download, unzip and doubleclick to open with preview.app. You can now inspect the model from every angle, zoom/scroll.

Cheers
Frank
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Destiny (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
Destiny's Avatar
 
Posts: 131
Join Date: 17.07.2011
Default 17.07.2011, 13:18

aaaaaaaaaaaarrrr... sooo sad.. now what do I do.. back to the begining.. Thank you so much for all your help.... almost but not quite.....

Destiny

Quote:
Originally Posted by frank beckmann View Post
Oh my dear - Preview.app is built into MacOSX - sorry I don´t know what´s up on the Window´s side.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Destiny (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
Destiny's Avatar
 
Posts: 131
Join Date: 17.07.2011
Böse 17.07.2011, 13:23

oh why can't everyone own a Mac then we wouldn't have all these issues... with silly Windows... My Mac never crashes, never let me down and works wonderfully... and...... my models would work too.. but not in Windows....

Destiny...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
frank beckmann (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
frank beckmann's Avatar
 
Posts: 15,107
Join Date: 12.07.2005
Default 17.07.2011, 13:24

Why does it has to be interactive?
I mean you can render a turntable or whatever you like and export it to a Quicktime movie which will run on Windows either.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Destiny (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
Destiny's Avatar
 
Posts: 131
Join Date: 17.07.2011
Default 17.07.2011, 13:39

Because its not what the client wants... they want to be able to turn and twist and zoom... To just rotate can be done very easy but so many people can do this so they ask me to do something different... I have Maya, Max and other programs to do this... Its just a matter of setting the last key from 360 with say 36 images sequences... I can do multiple rows and put them into Object 2VR but still not good enough... Client wants the pig animation type... Some of the object to scan are hundreds of years old.. Scientist all over the word will look at the model and want to take a screen shot of a particular area of the model.... If I cannot work it out I will lose the job.... I will gladly buy Cheetah if it does what i want but I have bought so many programs to try this but they do not work.. I might have to buy the 3dsom software but thats very expensive and the trial, like most trials will not allow me to find test it out.. I have asked but no response...

Destiny

Quote:
Originally Posted by frank beckmann View Post
Why does it has to be interactive?
I mean you can render a turntable or whatever you like and export it to a Quicktime movie which will run on Windows either.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.6.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com