Rounded corners with editable radius - iPhone

Hello Cheetah forum - I am brand new in Cheetah and 3D modelling, and I hope you can give me some basic guidance.

I am working on something like an iPhone 5.

When modelling the body, I find it hard to design the rounded corners - which tool to use?

Attached example: I started with a box. Removed the corner polygons. Added a one fourth of a cylinder. Used the bridge tool to merge the items.

I now have a model which is hard to edit further, as the polygons does not match each other in geometry - e.g. Ring Cut, Extrude, Cover etc. I also face some issues with the render, where the cylinder meet the bridged parts.

I have also tried the bevel tool, but found it hard to manage the "corner radius".

Can anyone give me a hint how to build the iPhone 5 body with rounded corners and editable radius?

Do you by the way know any users in Denmark, Aarhus City, who might want to sell me some side-by-side training? Or somebody who would sell their modelling support on consulting basis?

All the best,
Claus

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2013-10-30 at 11.31.44.png
    Screen Shot 2013-10-30 at 11.31.44.png
    483.3 KB · Views: 1,831

Thank you Frank for your kindness,

I have now tried the spline approach, but the symmetry goes wrong for me when scaling it? It might be wrong, but I try to equal Cheetah units with my real world mm measurements (approx 600 mm * 150 mm).

Still in the small scale, when extruding the spline I end up with an object build from a lot of irregular polygons, and I kind of fell that this limits my symmetrical edit options - am I wrong? E.g. when I try to Ring Select, and use the "ring" as basis for further edits like symmetrical transforms, intrude, cover etc. Check attached render, which I just made by stacking objects.

Hard job to be an elephant in a China shop.

All the best, Claus

Hi Claus and Welcome!