About terrain material and assigning color for specific Y levels

About terrain material and assigning color for specific Y levels

Hi,

I'm relatively new to cheetah, and am learning how to create materials through the nodes editor (which seems powerful provided you know your maths ^^).

So I'm trying to create a terrain material the same as you can find in this thread : http://www.cheetah3d.de/forum/showthread.php?t=4729

But I'm not able to reproduce this behavior since I can't find a way to specify specific colors on different level in the Y axis...

Right now, I've made this :

And it doesn't work at all.

I'm still trying to figure things out, but I thought I could use some help from long timers or people who know. Maybe it will save me time !

Thanks to all who take time to help me out :)

Maybe try to start more simple in the beginning:
SimpleTerrainMat.jpg

Cheers
Frank

Last edited:
Well, thank you but I already did that ! :/

I was actually trying to get more control over all this: setting less white (with this setup it's impossible it seems), adding texture to the green area for instance, and being able to set particular colors to vertical vectors (ie. special color to cliffs etc...).

The setup from the other thread seemed far more complex, the OP seemed to have great control over his texture.

While not being as complex, I would like to have better control over this, so that I can texture my terrain just with this material, and not having to set UV sectors or the like ...

EDIT : to make myself clearer, a phrase from the other thread catched my attention : "You can also use a bit of math to vary terrain based on slope." This is actually what I would like most of all ^^

Last edited:
Well, thank you but I already did that ! :/
Sorry - I didn´t wanted to imply you´re a beginner at all.