Is Cheetah for me?

Is Cheetah for me?

Hey there,

I'm a graphic designer and digital artist that's just starting to use 3D in my work. I have used Google SketchUp a bit, but have found that it may not be enough for me. I'm not just trying to "sketch" things, but I want to create designs and objects where the final output is clean and professional looking. I'm a Mac user and ideally do not want to have to run Boot Camp or use any additional applications for rendering.

From a "work" stand point, I'm not interested in motion or animation at all - just static images. I want the ability to create images as nice as this:

cheetah3d.com/img/gallery/WoodClock2.jpg

They need to be printable at large format, so I'd like to be able to export them at pretty hi resolution or in vector format.

I've considered making the investment in Maya or Max 3ds, but judging by the Gallery here, Cheetah3d may be sufficient for me.

Any thoughts or insight from Cheetah users?

Thanks so much for reading.

I too am a graphic designer and digital artist/illustrator. I find Cheetah absolutely indispensable. I use it for static and motion graphics. Download the demo - I think it's fully functioning, you just can't save the Cheetah file. I find this forum an essential part of creating in Cheetah. You get out of Cheetah what you put into it. Good luck.

Just do it. It's already a bargain, and you'll get version 6 for free. Even if you move on to more expensive solutions later, the stability and simplicity of cheetah will bring you back to it every now and again. Plus, it's a real mac app, top-to-bottom... not a QT monstrosity like maya 2011... not a sloppy port.

And I've got a feeling... that Martin is on it, man... he's not letting his labor of love collect any dust... this app is just going to keep getting better. This one man pulls off what usually takes entire teams of coders... I think he puts unicorn tears in his breakfast cereal.

Buy it right now, and never look back.