Curtain Script

Curtain Script

Hello,

Is there someone who knows how to convert the reliefscript/tool into a script that makes curtain shaped models. I know it's possible to distort a plane using a displacement texture, but it would be nice to have a "curtain generator" or something so I don't have to create new displacement maps. Is there anybody that could help me? François or tg_jp?
Thanks in advance,

Regards,

Peter

peer said:
Hello,

Is there someone who knows how to convert the reliefscript/tool into a script that makes curtain shaped models. I know it's possible to distort a plane using a displacement texture, but it would be nice to have a "curtain generator" or something so I don't have to create new displacement maps. Is there anybody that could help me? François or tg_jp?
Thanks in advance,

Peter,

I'm afraid I can't really help with scripting althought it may appear I could, based on the couple of scripts I modified rather than I wrote. I am not really a programmer nor an expert in Javascript. But I will think about it and see if I can produce something usable.
tg_jp is certainly a lot more experienced than me and his scripts are great !

François

Hi,
creating a curtain script shouldn't be to difficult. It's mainly a plane whose vertices are displaced.
The biggest problem is probably to find a nice naturally looking function to displace the vertices since curtains are not very regular. So a simple sin() is probably not sufficient.

If I would have some more time I would try it.

By,
Martin

Hello, Peter.

I think very simple curtain ( wavy plane ) generator is easy to make.

but adding some effects ( wind, collision of other objects, gravity, etc.) are difficult for me. I try to make simple one on this weekend, because for long time I didn't play with script of Cheetah3D.:-D

regards.

tg_jp

Thanks for all your replies!! A simple curtain would be great!! I want to use it for architectural visualisations (stills). Please take your time tg_jp !