Can use Cheetah 3D renders for Flash MX and Video?

Can use Cheetah 3D renders for Flash MX and Video?

Sorry but I'm a beginner at 3D...

1. I would like to incorporate 3D into my flash web sites. Can I use Cheetah to create 3D animated objects that can later be imported to Flash Mx? For example, I can import a .png that is transparent and layer a background under the .png (or 3D file).

2. Can I also export Cheetah files with ALPHA chanels for use in Video? I would like to create animated Titles for video.

Are these two things possible?
Thanks!!!!

Hi,
sorry but I can't really answer that question since I've never worked with Flash.

I'm also not sure which video file format actually supports the alpha channel. I just can say that I send alpha channel data to Quicktime.
I would be also interested if the alpha channel data is available in apps like Flash.

Maybe someone else can answere that question what video file format actually supports a alpha channel.

By,
Martin

Alpha Channels

You can use Alpha channels in Final Cut pro. I don't know about express, maybe with a 3rd party plugin?

David

Hi David,
do you know which Quicktime file formats support the alpha channel? Which codec do you use the when you want to make a movie with alpha channel?

Many thanks in advance.

By,
Martin

No

I don't know, but I will try to find out.

When you export a Final Cut Pro file to QuickTime you get a .mov file if I remember correctly. I have seen some info on codecs, I think I used the Apple NTSC???? Are there different types of QuickTime files?

David

Martin said:
Hi David,
do you know which Quicktime file formats support the alpha channel? Which codec do you use the when you want to make a movie with alpha channel?

Many thanks in advance.

By,
Martin

The Animation codec supports alpha channels, but you get huge files (with no quality loss). In fact all codecs that have the option of setting millions+ colors (the "+" being the alpha).