Track Bicycle Frame

I got the urge to join tubes together again, so I looked for a bicycle design to build.
I think the image I found may have been computer generated, but I liked the way it looked.

Although I'm not a cycle expert this frame looked different to me so I did some research to learn a little more.

This particular frame is carbon fiber, but it's the geometry that got my attention.
I believe it's a single speed track racing frame, no brakes,
no freewheeling and a short chainstay for a short chain.

trackframe.gif

Five years ago I made a C3D bike model. I like bikes in general, and carbon fiber frames can be designed in almost any shape you can think of. My bike model had fairly traditional geometry (angles and proportions), but with smooth joints.

I have also designed a few cars, and frequently referred to your many useful tutorials. Car bodies and bike frames are complex shapes. They have large smooth areas with compound curves, plus many tiny details. The trick is to keep the subdivision as simple as possible.

The Gallery section of the forum is mostly for showing finished renders, like your bike frame. Gallery posts show what is possible. Your renders look great, and I appreciate how you use a material that incorporates the “isoparameter” edges of the subdivision control mesh.

In contrast, the Tutorial section is mostly for showing technique. I have a request: consider posting two almost identical renders, maybe in the Tutorial section, using the same material, but depicting pre- and post-subdivision, so aspiring C3D users can visualize the way you make a simpler box model to get flowing shapes. I’d prefer two separate pictures, not a single GIF, because I like to compare them side-by-side.