Black render after adding material to object

fumoboy007

Hi all, I am new to 3D modelling and Cheetah3D. I am playing with materials, but I can’t get the material to render.

I have attached my sample project. Here is what I did:
1. Add a ball.
2. Add a point light. Rendering at this step works; I see the ball and the light reflecting off of it.
3. Add a default Steel material to the ball. If I render at this step, I just get black.

What am I misunderstanding?

Attachments

• Material Renders As Black.jas.zip
    8.3 KB · Views: 219
Hi and Welcome.
What am I misunderstanding?
What you need to understand is that reflective and refractive materials like chrome and glass need an environment as a lighting source. Imagine you´re in a cellar with a chrome ball and a torch; what can you expect from that light source? At least just a tiny spot reflecting the torch on the surface of the ball.
Please have a look at Help: Cheetah3d samples->Rendering->Pig.jas and have a closer look at the light set up.
Reflective material.jpg

Cheers
Frank

Thanks for the reply, Frank!

Imagine you’re in a cellar with a chrome ball and a torch; what can you expect from that light source? At least just a tiny spot reflecting the torch on the surface of the ball.

That’s my intuition as well. However, I don’t get any reflected light off the ball when I use the material.

Attachments

• Black Render.png
    Black Render.png
    54 KB · Views: 225
An area light will reflect in the ball. I have no idea why the point light won't. Spot light or distant doesn't show either?????
You will Have to ask Martin the creator.

* Light (as in "light source") is a virtual invisible object unless it is defined as an area light (rectangle, discs or sphere) with visibility activated. In this case (area light) you will see both the object and its reflection in a render of a reflective metallic object.