PBR Material Support with NO Fuss

PBR Material Support with NO Fuss

There have been a few threads where PBR (Physically Based Render) Materials have been discussed.

There have been work-arounds and conversions suggested to build a C3D Material using the PBR texture maps.

However, in my experience, its tough to get the C3D materials looking exactly like I expect - I expect them to look like they do in previews (if you purchased/downloaded them), or like they do in alternate software (if you painted them yourself). This is especially true for metallic materials.

So, my wish for today (but I've been wishing for a couple years) is true PBR Materials in Cheetah 3D.

Specifically I'm interested in the metalness/roughness workflow :)

Thanks for considering!
--Shift Studio.

Agreed! That would be great. Most of our sign products I model use a lot of different types of metal. Typically different types of aluminum (natural satin, anodized, extruded, butler finish, brushed etc.). We use a lot of Chemetal laminates too, so to match those would be wonderful. This would help a lot because I have a hard time getting them to look like the actual material.

Martin mentioned once he had an eye on amd pro render (it works with nvidia, too, as much as I know): https://pro.radeon.com/en/software/prorender/

Yes, the one they get when they buy cinema4d. Only with the more expensive versions (for blender, 3ds max or maya it's free), and somehow I understand that their customers are not that happy with it (maxon sells something they get for free, and it's not finished yet, as much as I know).

I'm afraid that's the only way to get PBR in the foreseeable future. With such a plugin the light, material and render problems would probably be solved.

bump^^

@Martin,

Can you share your thoughts about this? I'm really very interested in the answer.:)
I'd say its my most-wished-for wish.

Thanks, Shift Studio.