Queuestion

Queuestion

Re:
Is there a way to "Que" renders...? - 14.04.2008
http://www.cheetah3d.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2941

Sequential Batch Render - 05.04.2016
http://www.cheetah3d.com/forum/showthread.php?t=11767

It would be great to be able to automate the rendering of a queue of Cheetah 3D files, one after another. It seems like such a simple thing to do, but forum posts going back at least eight years say otherwise. I would like to understand why this is so. Aside from some cut-and-paste html/Javascript experiments a long time ago, I have no experience with, or talent for, scripting, so I know this question is naive, but anyway ....

If I understand the situation correctly, it has not been possible to use Automator, Applescript, Javascript, or any more technical languages to make a script or application that would take the place of waiting for a signal to push a button — the same signal, the same button, over and over. Ding! Click ... Ding! Click ... Ding! Click ....

The constraint seems to be the absence of any feedback indicating the completion of a render, triggering the process with the next file. I am pretty sure it is not hard to make a script to open a specific file for a single render. The completed render then goes into the Users/Library/Application Support/Cheetah 3D/Render History folder. Would it be possible to add a function to such a script that detects when this folder has been changed? Or maybe a similar change in the total hard drive memory used/left? Even if it required quitting and restarting Cheetah 3D for every render or putting each .jas file in a separate numbered folder, whatever — any work-around that serves to restart the next file.