Beginner - suitability of Cheetah3D?

bilbomacuser

I'm just starting out with a project where I'm creating an stl file of a bone, and I want to then use software to make a drill guide that fits over the bone to allow precise drilling. I have no experience with 3D software but after watching a few tutorials I understand that I can create a box and a cylinder and using boolean to 'cut' the cylinder out of the box.

I assume that I should also be able to 'cut' the bone out of the box - so that the box fits perfectly in the correct position over the bone. However, when I try this the bone stl image disappears.

Finally - if I can get Cheetah3D to do what I want, I also need to check whether Cheetah3D allows accurate measurement. ie. I need the bone to be actual size, and the holes in the box need to be a precise diameter. I also then need to create other holes that are angled exactly the same.

Is Cheetah3D suitable for this type of project or should I be looking elsewhere? If it is suitable, any ideas why I can cut the cylinder out of the box, but not cut the bone out of the box using boolean?

Thanks for any help!

Hi and Welcome!
I guess the stl file is probably not watertight (or don´t contain connected polygons due its creation source maybe) - which can be checked by calling "Info" (icon or cmd+I)).
I made a funny cartoony bone drilled by a small cylinder:
Hole´nBone.gif

I don´t see any issues regarding your project - Cheetah3d uses units over real world entities like cm/mm/inch/etc.
Maybe this will help you out. If there´s anything else feel free to add more questions herein.

Cheers
Frank

Attachments

• Hole´nBone.jas.zip
    46.2 KB · Views: 201
Last edited:
* The geometry of the objects in a Boolean is critical. Minor inconsistencies (holes / not watertight, see Frank B above), maybe not obvious, can cause the Boolean to fail to execute as expected.
* Please upload a screenshot / a .jas of the bone.