Help rigging a book to open

Help rigging a book to open

I have modeled a book which I want to be able to easily pose in various states (and maybe later use in an animation).

Right now I am only trying to figure out how to be able to open and close the cover (the pages will obviously be a separate challenge).

I assume the best way to do this is with joint tags? This is my first time trying to do any rigging with those tools and after several hours of experimentation & failure, I would like to know if someone can give me guidance.

Sample file attached.

Thanks!

Attachments

• book.zip
    90.1 KB · Views: 349
  • BookRender.png
    BookRender.png
    168.5 KB · Views: 486
Ok Frank - I've looked that over a bit now but I'm still not sure how to actually set it up.

My model is in the closed state. So do I add joints in a "U" formation as shown in the screen shot from the linked post?

And do I center the joints on the inside portion of the model?

Thanks.

I see now how that might work - still fussing with it but I get the point now after setting up the U joint.

I'm not having too much luck with this. I tried the U frame joint - pretty much a mess. If I swung the joint to open the book cover too much,, the binding section got all all distorted.

I finally got a clean opening swing by removing a lot of vertex weighting for that joint. But now how do I set this up so that the binding folds over neatly when the cover opens? Morph tag did not seem to help any.

:confused:

Attachments

• Screen shot 2012-03-12 at 12.24.48 PM.png
    Screen shot 2012-03-12 at 12.24.48 PM.png
    232.9 KB · Views: 439
  • Screen shot 2012-03-12 at 12.25.02 PM.png
    Screen shot 2012-03-12 at 12.25.02 PM.png
    36.1 KB · Views: 434
  • Screen shot 2012-03-12 at 12.25.28 PM.png
    Screen shot 2012-03-12 at 12.25.28 PM.png
    138.5 KB · Views: 454
Got it!