making a tetrahelix

making a tetrahelix

I'm new to Cheetah 3D. I want to make a tetrahelix chain of about 10 tetrahedra, and haven't the slightest idea where to start. I thought that joining separate tetrahedra would be the way, but I'm having trouble even lining them up. Any advice for a complete novice?

I'm new to Cheetah 3D. I want to make a tetrahelix chain of about 10 tetrahedra, and haven't the slightest idea where to start. I thought that joining separate tetrahedra would be the way, but I'm having trouble even lining them up. Any advice for a complete novice?

hi,
actually i dunno what a tetrahelix chain is, so my suggestion may be not fitting, but you could think of modeling an inner core from triangles from which the tetrahedra were to be extruded.

example:

- make cylinder with sufficient alignment of segments
- in polygon mode with none selected, choose tools / triangulate
- you could now already select all triangles you wanna keep, invert selection and delete (or do that later)
- extrude all selected triangles with group preservation unchecked
- now the extruded faces are selected, apply normal move til they meet in singular points
- optimize in order to weld those and to delete all unused points

Bild 1.png

Hi.
Not quite sure. ;)
I started with a ten storey cube; 10 sections and 10.0 height.
Make editable and do zick-zack cuts with the scalpel tool.
Delete every horizontal edges and add a "twist modifier".

Cheers
Frank

Attachments

• TetraHelix.jpg
    TetraHelix.jpg
    42.3 KB · Views: 1,369
Assuming this is what you're talking about:

tetrahelix+WEB.jpg

Constructing one correctly is no simple matter as the angle of each tetrahedron relative to the next is an irrational number.

The math is discussed here in some detail, and there's enough information here to put together a polygonobject script:

http://www.rwgrayprojects.com/rbfnotes/helix/helix01.html

This does suggest a fairly simple way of putting one together using C3D's usual tools: