Cheetah3D User Forum  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
Innerdreamrecords (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
Posts: 1,102
Join Date: 20.03.2007
Default Render preview - 27.03.2007, 16:54

I think Max has this? It would be great to be able to select a small area of your model/view and render full quality as a test. This would save countless hours I would think.

Cheers!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
DaVinci (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
Posts: 271
Join Date: 04.11.2006
Default 27.03.2007, 18:52

Quote:
Originally Posted by Innerdreamrecords View Post
I think Max has this? It would be great to be able to select a small area of your model/view and render full quality as a test. This would save countless hours I would think.

Cheers!

That would be nice.

And I would like to have an option to define preview settings for camera/hdri/caustics/radiosity.
You could just copy/paste the current camera object and apply the "lite" preview settings to it. But then syncing between both camera settings would be quite a P.I.T.A.

What I thought about is an option to define alternative "preview" values for the following settings:
Radiosity samples
Caustucs samples
DOF samples
Camera oversampling pass 1&2
(that's what came to my mind at first glance)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
peer (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
peer's Avatar
 
Posts: 815
Join Date: 07.04.2005
Location: Rotterdam, the Netherlands
Default 27.03.2007, 20:48

You can make a copy of your camera and set this to low renderoptions. This way you can make faster previews and use the original camera to render the final image.

Regards,

Peter


Mac Pro Quad 3.0 GHz 2 GB Ram, Intel dualcore iMac 2.0 GHz 1.5 GB Ram, OS X 10.6.2, Sketchup 7.1 Pro, Vectorworks 2009 Architect, CHEETAH3D 5.0.1, Photoshop CS4.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
DaVinci (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
Posts: 271
Join Date: 04.11.2006
Default 27.03.2007, 22:01

Quote:
Originally Posted by peer View Post
You can make a copy of your camera and set this to low renderoptions. This way you can make faster previews and use the original camera to render the final image.

Regards,

Peter

I know. Just what I said in my last post:
Quote:
You could just copy/paste the current camera object and apply the "lite" preview settings to it. But then syncing between both camera settings would be quite a P.I.T.A.
But as I also mentioned you would have to sync all fog/dof/target/etc. tags (if you have them) as well which "would be quite a P.I.T.A."
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
peer (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
peer's Avatar
 
Posts: 815
Join Date: 07.04.2005
Location: Rotterdam, the Netherlands
Default 28.03.2007, 09:12

@ DaVinci: Wow, totally misted that one... Jeez..

Ok back to work

Regards,

Peter


Mac Pro Quad 3.0 GHz 2 GB Ram, Intel dualcore iMac 2.0 GHz 1.5 GB Ram, OS X 10.6.2, Sketchup 7.1 Pro, Vectorworks 2009 Architect, CHEETAH3D 5.0.1, Photoshop CS4.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
capnchunky (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
capnchunky's Avatar
 
Posts: 132
Join Date: 28.09.2006
Default 28.03.2007, 18:21

One of the other few nice features of POV-Ray was that you could express a single number to set the global quality of the render:

0-1: Just show quick colors. Use full ambient lighting only.
2-3: Quick colors. Show specified diffuse and ambient light.
4: Quick colors. Render shadows, but no extended lights.
5: Quick colors. Render shadows, including extended lights.
6-7: Compute texture patterns, compute photons
8: Compute reflected, refracted, and transmitted rays.
9+: Compute media and radiosity
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.6.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com