"Welding" Two Objects Together

"Welding" Two Objects Together

I want to create a smooth transition between two objects joined with a boolean creator - something like a weld joint - where the transition between the objects is smooth and not abrupt. Any insight would be appreciated.

-Steve

Hi Steve.
Maybe a screenshot of the border, where the transition take place could help here. Guessing without specific information wouldn´t be a help; maybe cut of the opponent polygons and try building a bridge, with a ringcut afterwards and a "move normal" of the ring. Just guessing.....

With kindest regards
Frank

What you're really looking for is ... tada ... a bevel / chamfer tool:

http://www.cheetah3d.de/forum/showthread.php?t=1514

If you check this thread you'll see how I can approximate the effect by extruding the edge, but this is annoyingly manual.

Note that since I'm a subdiv modeler by inclination, a simple bevel tool (one interpolation) is all I'm asking for. A chamfer tool (which, ideally, would let you pick a profile) would be spectacular. I'm not asking for that, but you might ;-)

Maybe a screenshot of the border, where the transition take place could help here.
Thanks for the help, Frank. All I'm trying to do is make the joint between the sphere and cone a smooth and gradual curved transition so it appears to be a single entity.

-Steve

Attachments

• model.jpg
    model.jpg
    6.5 KB · Views: 444
Hi.
That is really easy to achieve without boolean&bevel tool.

1. Pick a sphere and a cone. Bring the two in position in Front view.
2. Make sure both objects have the same amount of longitudinal sections, this will speed up the progress.
2. The cone needs 2 sections at it´s height, because a ringcut won´t work here.
3. Now make both objects editable.
4. Make the sphere invisible and delete the top point of the Cone.