Cheetah3D User Forum  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
jumpingJon (Offline)
Neuer Benutzer
 
Posts: 1
Join Date: 30.10.2008
Default Odd Crashing - 30.10.2008, 20:06

Hi there,
1st time posting here, and unfortunately its a pester for some support.
But 1st I have to say C3d is an excellent tool from what I can tell, and incredible value.

I'm getting crashes when I load in an FBX which has been kindly exported from 3ds by a 3d modeler for me. I use cheetah to review & tweak (and do basic ideas)
How do I report/get support for cheetah please.
ie how do I take a crash dump/report & how do I get it to support ppl

Thanks in advance
Jon
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
Francois (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
Posts: 1,775
Join Date: 07.04.2005
Default 30.10.2008, 21:21

Quote:
Originally Posted by jumpingJon View Post
I'm getting crashes when I load in an FBX which has been kindly exported from 3ds by a 3d modeler for me. I use cheetah to review & tweak (and do basic ideas)
How do I report/get support for cheetah please.
ie how do I take a crash dump/report & how do I get it to support ppl

Hi Jon and welcome,

If you have not done so yet, you can customize your tool bar (right click on it) and add the report bug icon.
In your case, it's likely wise to send your .fbx file to Martin (martin at cheetah3d dot de ) as well as the crash log report (in the Users/Library/Logs/Crash reporter/...).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Targos (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
Posts: 807
Join Date: 18.11.2006
Default 31.10.2008, 21:47

if its a static entity, ie no bones etc, try 3ds/ obj formats too

AC
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Martin (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
Site Admin
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Posts: 7,921
Join Date: 13.03.2005
Default 31.10.2008, 21:53

Hi,
I've already received the FBX file via email and the file doesn't just crash Cheetah3D but also Maya and Cinema 4D. So it looks like the file is either corrupted or the FBX SDK has a problem to load this special file.

Bye,
Martin
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
ladylaw05 (Offline)
Neuer Benutzer
 
Posts: 15
Join Date: 14.05.2010
Default cheetah 3d 5.1 keeps crashing - 14.05.2010, 17:27

hello. im pretty new to the software and have been working on a project but the programme keeps crashing on me for know apparent reason and now it wont open back up without crashing. i have sent the error report to apple but dont know what else to do.

the file details say it is only 940kb so dont see how it can be a size issue. i have barely began to upload anything.

any ideas?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Martin (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
Site Admin
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Posts: 7,921
Join Date: 13.03.2005
Default 14.05.2010, 17:31

Hi,
please try Cheetah3D 5.3. You can download it for free from my webpage.

Cheetah3D 5.3 uses the latest FBX SDK which solves many former crashes.

Bye,
Martin
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
frank beckmann (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
frank beckmann's Avatar
 
Posts: 11,975
Join Date: 12.07.2005
Default 14.05.2010, 17:34

Quote:
Originally Posted by ladylaw05 View Post
i have sent the error report to apple but dont know what else to do.
I donīt think Apple will help you here.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ladylaw05 View Post
any ideas?
Crash-logs&bug-reports have to go to: martin"at"cheetah3d"dot"de
If possible along the file.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers
Frank
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
podperson (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
podperson's Avatar
 
Posts: 5,163
Join Date: 26.03.2007
Default 14.05.2010, 19:16

Quote:
Originally Posted by frank beckmann View Post
I donīt think Apple will help you here.

Crash-logs&bug-reports have to go to: martin"at"cheetah3d"dot"de
If possible along the file.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers
Frank

But it will be a (rare) crash report that Apple can't blame on Flash, so Adobe will appreciate it.


Learn 3D with Cheetah 3D 6 | Master List of C3D Tutorials | Master List of Scripts (please post omissions to the threads) | Decorated Pig | Blog
MacBook Pro 2.66GHz (2 core) 8GB RAM | Mac Pro 3.2GHz (4 core) 24GB RAM | Cheetah 3d 6.x | OS X 10.9.x
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
pegot (Offline)
Erfahrener Benutzer
 
pegot's Avatar
 
Posts: 351
Join Date: 21.08.2008
Default 14.05.2010, 19:45

Quote:
But it will be a (rare) crash report that Apple can't blame on Flash, so Adobe will appreciate it.
Podperson - that is the best laugh I've had all day!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
ladylaw05 (Offline)
Neuer Benutzer
 
Posts: 15
Join Date: 14.05.2010
Default 5.3 still crashing - 15.05.2010, 14:37

hello again. sorry but i downloaded the new 5.3 version and opened my project in that. it takes forever to open and then works fine until i want to render the scene to test and then crashes again, which is making it difficult to work on.

the project information says its 1MB and i have lots memory on my computer. i have uploaded images as textures each about 1.7MB.

what do you think i should be doing to help my situation?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin Version 3.6.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com