Combine Polygons

I am sure by this time you can tell I am really new to this.

I have been doing game dev and programming for over 30 years, but modelling, I don't spend much time on.

I guess I am not really new. I have been doing modeling as part of my game dev for the same 30 years.

I just don't do enough of it to be very good at it.

By putting the poly count back down really low and then changing the smoothing angle lower, it looks AWESOME and it very low poly.

You are like magic...

I am almost there. Now I need to make the dimples for the dots on the dice.

2 ways come to mind:

1. Add another small ball at each place I need a dot and do another boolean.

2. Do a catmull divide at each square I want a dot until there are several faces inside. Then take the very center vertex and drag it towards the center of the box. The question I have on this method is how do I add some magnetism to the dragging so that the vertices around the center dot move with it?

The benefit to #2 is that the edges of the dot will be more curved where as with #1 it will probably be a sharp edge. I would rather have the smooth edge.

I prefer geometry because it makes it more portable on platforms that might not have good performing shaders, but shaders would obviously be simpler

2. I copy&paste the polygons where the dots should appear - split them to have an extra mesh. Take a particle mesh and add a squashed ball to it and set the "Type: to Polygon - then go Tools->Particle->Particle->Polygon and put this result to a Boolean modifier to subtract it from the dice:

Cheers
Frank

Attachments

• Eye Of The Die.jpeg
    Eye Of The Die.jpeg
    93.8 KB · Views: 208
* As per Frank, but a bit simplified.
* Who needs 3 dimensions in flat universe, anyway?

* Red: set of original 4 dimples
* Grey: Boolean
* Green: Collapsed + colours
* I guess you could set the spherical params to <32 / <16, depending on the required smoothness.