PDA

View Full Version : RIB export problem


noseman
28.08.2005, 10:59
Hi ther all, Martin.
I just purchased my upgrade of Cheetah today.
I have downloaded 3Delight renderer (3delight.com). It is a very good renderman compliant renderer that has a free first lisence and charges only for the next lisences purchased.
I have been playing around with it and it is fast and the quality is great too.
My problem is that, for some reason, the rib file exported from Cheetah doesn't render properly and gives out a number of error messages.
When I hack into the rib file and copy-paste a header form another rib file that works, it renders better (with a number of errors but very close to the output I expect).
Is there a rule of how to export rib files?
Thanks!

Martin
28.08.2005, 14:15
Hi,
sorry for the problems. The .rib export is indeed not perfect. Mainly because some shaders might not fit. There might be also a problem with the camera setup.
I'm not to familiar with renderman or 3Dlight. But if you could mail me the header I could try to make it more conformable.

Do you know a shader which every renderman compliant renderer offers which supports bumpmaps, color maps, etc.? The same problem with light sources. These shaders seem to vary.

By,
Martin

noseman
28.08.2005, 15:07
I just emailed you a few rib files that come with 3delight renderer.
There's some intresting info in them.
I hope they help.

Thanks for the reply!

Martin
29.08.2005, 01:06
Hi,
thanks for the files. I got them. I will try to imporve the .rib export.

By,
Martin